Kent Senior Cup Draw

The Kent Senior Cup will celebrate its 125th anniversary season by taking the final back to Priestfield Stadium, home of Gillingham FC, to be played on the bank holiday of Monday 5th May 2014.


Hythe Town have been handed a bye in the First Round, and in the Second Round will host the team they defeated in a league fixture the night before today's release of the draw, Faversham Town, with the date of the fixture to be confirmed.


The Kent Senior Cup celebrates its 125th anniversary this season, having been first played in its current format in the 1888-1889 season with Chatham taking home the trophy in its first year.


To celebrate the landmark anniversary, the final will return to Priestfield for the first time in two decades and be held on the May bank holiday weekend. Priestfield, the home of Gillingham FC, is the largest football stadium in the county and home to the highest-ranked Kent club in the football pyramid.


Paul Scally, Gillingham FC Chairman, welcomed the Kent Senior Cup final to the ground - “We’re delighted to host the 125th Kent Senior Cup final at Priestfield and happy to be able play a part in the history of this competition. We’ll do our utmost to make both the competing teams feel welcome and give the final the occasion it deserves.”

Hythe Town FC - Kent Senior Cup Winners 2011/12
Hythe Town FC - Kent Senior Cup Winners 2011/12

Gillingham FC will again play in the Kent Senior Cup this year alongside other leading Kent clubs Dartford, Ebbsfleet and Charlton Athletic, who still maintain their traditional affiliation to the Kent County FA.


The Kent boundary historically ran all the way to Tower Bridge in London, and clubs that were previously affiliated are still welcome to affiliate and enter the Kent Senior Cup.


Of course, who could forget possibly our club's biggest ever achievement, when in the 2011/12 season both Ebbsfleet United and Dover Athletic were defeated en-route to the Kent Senior Cup Final.


The final was both against and hosted by Dartford, as Scott Porter's side were victorious at the Princes Park Stadium by a single goal to lift the Kent Senior Cup for the first time ever. An achievement made possible due to stunning wins over clubs from both the Blue Square Premier and Blue Square South.

The opening rounds’ fixtures have thrown up some exciting matches, with Dartford travelling to Welling and last season’s finalists Tonbridge facing Ebbsfleet.


Holders Charlton Athletic will travel to Folkestone Invicta to begin the defence of their crown, whilst League One club Gillingham FC visit Erith & Belvedere.


Paul Dolan, Chief Executive of the Kent FA explained the reasons behind the early announcement of the final venue - “In recent years the final has been hosted by one of the competing clubs, but for our 125th Anniversary final we wanted a marquee venue for the occasion."


He continued - "We’re very grateful to Paul Scally and the team at Gillingham for agreeing to host this occasion, and we’ll be making further announcements about celebration events to mark the 125th Anniversary as the season progresses.”


Kent Senior Cup Sponsored by 2013-2014


First Round Draw


Welling United v Dartford

Erith & Belvedere v Gillingham

Dover Athletic v Margate

Herne Bay v Ramsgate

Chatham Town v Sittingbourne

Ebbsfleet United v Tonbridge Angels

Folkestone Invicta v Charlton Athletic


Second Round Draw


VCD Athletic v Tunbridge Wells

Dover Athletic or Margate v Erith & Belvedere or Gillingham

Maidstone United v Thamesmead Town

Cray Wanderers v Bromley

Hythe Town v Faversham Town

Whitstable Town v Herne Bay or Ramsgate

Chatham Town or Sittingbourne v Ebbsfleet United or Tonbridge Angels

Welling United or Dartford v Folkestone Invicta or Charlton Athletic


Quotes courtesy of


Originally Published - 14/08/13